knitting · strikking

Summer Stripes White Birch washcloth

img_20180901_113208

Project 8 (2018): Summer Stripes White Birch washcloth
Pattern: Bittami White Birch
Yarn: Sirdar Summer Stripes 60% cotton, 40 % acrylic 50gr = 158 metres
Colour: 308 Safari: green purple sand
Yarn purchased: online in UK
Difficulty for me: easy
Needles: circular needles size 3.5 mm
Stitches: 51
Knitted where: at home in Accra
Final size: 22 wide x 20 high
Final weight: 23 gr

This pattern is from Bittami, a Norwegian knitter, who has some lovely patterns and knitting books. Quite a few are free. I had knitted a similar one ages in green  (Goat Willow) which is also very nice. I’m trying to use some of the yarn I brought to Accra, and washcloths are very manageable.  This will be part of the simple summer series I was knitting as housewarming presents, all roughly the same size. Ten stitches fewer and larger needles than original pattern.

img_20180825_171218

A goat in Jamestown, Accra. It’s not all poverty and shacks, there are also very modern areas and fancy restaurants here (though knitting yarn, hmmm, I have only ever seen Chinese acrylic yarn here.) After almost three years in Accra, it feels like home but I am still hoping to move next year to be able to live with my husband again. So I am looking at my things and wondering what to ship, what to give away, what to use up: hard to know when I could be anywhere next year. I still have lots of knitting yarn I brought here, which has been very nice indeed. Cotton, wool, alpaca: I look at the three plastic bins of yarn and see months of potential projects, especially at my glacial knitting speed.

Leave a comment